The Surface Laptop in Perspective

In the past 48 hours I have done a lot of thinking about the Microsoft Surface Laptop and Windows 10 S. I have also read a few opinion pieces and watched video hands on. There is a lot of opinions about the device and how it fits within the Windows ecosystem; about how it changes or doesn’t changes things.

So I thought I put in my 2 cents.

Surface_Laptop_1

The Surface Laptop on first glance looks like a matchup of the Surface Book’s screen and a Surface Type Cover. The Laptop’s profile and body has these angles that work to hide the lower half given the allusion its just a screen and keyboard. The colored versions only come with middle tier models; that may upset some. The lack of USB Type-C or the Thunderbolt connector of the same shape will be one the major dings facing the Surface Laptop. The argument being these things are the future (even though it is not the case now).

The Surface Laptop’s profile when open really reminds me of the profile of the Surface Pro. The device’s screen is incredibly clear. You know it’s a good, crisp screen if it works well on camera. In terms of the Surface family the Laptop is quite conservative. It doesn’t fit into the tablet PC mode of the Pro or Book, but it does fit the name Surface. The colors chosen for the Surface Laptop are a good balance; they aren’t too bold to be considered toy-like but aren’t so muted as to be barely there. As interesting as it would be to see this notebook as one those 2-in-1 devices that flips, it’s intriguing to see the Surface team’s take on the clamshell design. It sort of like watching a comedian in a dramatic role; they are following the script but bringing another perspective.

For example the last few years has seen a number of thin and light designs for PC laptops that have pushed the boundaries. From Lenovo’s Yoga and its jeweled hinge to Dell’s XPS 13 and its near bezel-less screen to Hewlett-Packard’s svelte Specter. PCs have been getting better designs across the board. The Surface Laptop isn’t as flashy. The laptop’s most daring features is the Alcantara layer sitting on top the keyboard and the fact it runs Windows 10 S. Of course there are innovations such as putting the SSD on the same motherboard as the Intel chip, but where Surface excels at is in eliciting a response. With Surface Microsoft built a brand; they built something that works on an emotional plane. I mean for me the Surface devices have been coveted items. There is something to buying a device built for the software it runs. Inherent in buying a Surface device is buying into the design; into the notion of a tablet that can replace your laptop.  Its buying a device from people you think give a damn about you loving what they made.

The Surface Laptop is a desirable object; I want but I can’t afford it and its quirks I gladly try to fit in my computer usage.

There are some issues. Like I wished Microsoft would have made a fan less Core M version. I know there are power freaks out there, but I’m all about no fans. Secondly I was thinking the device would be smaller. Like 10-11 inches. Lastly I’m surprised there was no talk of an LTTE model. The USB thing to me is not a big deal and this running Windows 10 S isn’t a hurdle either. Actually the other thing is I wish colors were available for all models.

And that’s about it. Hopefully I will get a hands on (aka playing with the demo model at a Best Buy).

Leave a comment