Mobile Confusion

Half of the time the inspiration to write a post begins out of the frustration of reading online commentary. Sometimes its an opinion I find intriguing; but sometimes its simply because I think someone else wrote some bullshit.

The day Microsoft decided to retrench its mobile efforts I wish I had honestly switched to some cheap ass Android device and called it a day. Because the community that is Windows Phone has descended into madness. There are a lot of angry users who are split between straight up anger and hostility that honestly Microsoft should address.

For example I read one guy just going off about Microsoft cheating users. I get the anger of his sentiment, but I also understand in the larger scheme his and others anger is moot because mobile is a black hole for Microsoft.

The problem for me is that I get and feel the anger, but I also understand why the retrenchment happened.

By the time Microsoft bought the Nokia hardware assets Windows Phone had only one phone maker; Nokia. Microsoft was keeping the company afloat by infusing it with cash. The Nokia deal damaged relations with companies like Samsung (who honestly Windows Phone needed as not if not more than Nokia). The mobile platform was failing to get and retain apps and Windows 8 meant a new and separate app store that competed for attention.

It was a mess.

Was it fixable? Possibly but that isn’t what happened.

Should Microsoft had been clearer to users? Fuck yes.

 

Leave a Reply

